Skip to main content

Laser welding standards to know

No less than 9 standards apply to the welding trades, for safety issues and to guarantee the quality of the results thanks to a control system. The main laser standards to be aware of are:


  • NF EN ISO 13919, which sets a frame of reference for laser welding: it makes it possible to assess the level of requirement and the acceptable defects on leaving the workshop;

  • NF EN ISO 15614-11 and NF EN ISO 15609-04, relating to the qualification of operating modes and their descriptions;

  • NF EN ISO 14732, concerning the qualification of welding professionals for mechanized welding (operators, adjusters, etc.).

Other standards exist and apply in specific sectors such as aeronautics or aerospace – such as the ISO 24394 standard on the qualification of welders.


Laser welding is no exception to the standards. On the contrary: they are essential and form a framework that allows you to work in the best conditions. These norms and standards are our reference tools on which we rely to protect ourselves and guarantee a result.  Let's take a look on all the standards of laser welding to know.

EN ISO 3834 company certification

The EN ISO 3834 company certification describes the quality requirements for fusion welding of metallic materials: it thus integrates quality into the welding process itself, at the time of manufacture.
It is used in many product standards, in particular for pressure equipment, boilers and piping as well as for the transport of hazardous materials.

EN 4678 and L06-395 – Frameworks for the aeronautical sector

While the EN 4678 standard dates from 2012 and the L06-395 standard dates back to 2000, both govern the aerospace industry and are equivalent, except for a few details. They define the rules to be respected to guarantee the quality of aerospace constructions in metallic materials welded and brazed by laser beams. Their application covers the manufacture of new parts but also repairs, under the responsibility of a supplier or an approved company.
Small particularity for the EN 4678 standard: the designer defines 3 levels of criticality of the assembly (B, C and D) according to the consequences of a rupture of this assembly on the fall of the device. These are correlated with the fault analysis levels of the ISO 13919 standard. Thus, if the breakage of the assembly causes the device to fall, it is classified as "severe requirement", level B.

EN ISO 13919 – The reference framework for laser welding

Updated in December 2018, the ISO 13919-1 standard establishes an international level standard and makes it possible to assess the levels of defects present in steel, nickel, titanium or aluminum assemblies welded by electron beam or laser beam. The ISO 13919-2 standard deals with aluminum and aluminum alloys.
Its three levels of quality requirements on leaving the workshop (B: high, C: medium and D: moderate), make it applicable to a wide range of achievements, whether welding with or without wire. filler, alloyed or unalloyed steels, or even materials welded by electron beam or laser.

EN ISO 14732 – Qualification of welding operators

The ISO 14732 standard concerns the qualification of personnel, welding operators and setters in mechanized or automatic welding of metallic materials. It defines the requirements relating to the qualification of these operators, and applies when this is required by the contract or the application standard. This latter standard replaced standard EN 1418, which disappeared in 2013.

EN ISO 15609-04 – Description of operating modes

The ISO 15609-04 standard specifies the requirements relating to the description of the welding procedure (WPS) by laser beam. This document allows the welder to formally record the parameters that have an influence on the metallurgical and mechanical quality, the geometry of the structure and the solidity of the assembly.
The standard applies to all laser beam welding procedures, including hardfacing welding.

EN ISO 15614-11 – Qualification of operating methods

Standard 15614-11 describes and qualifies a welding procedure for metallic materials, defines the conditions for performing qualification tests and the limit of validity of a procedure.
It applies to all metallic materials, whether for repair work or the production of new parts, regardless of their shape, thickness and heat treatment!

ISO 24394 – Qualification of personnel in the aerospace sector
More specific than the previous one, the ISO 24394 standard also concerns personnel, but it determines the requirements relating to the qualification of welders when the components are intended for aerospace applications.

ECSS-Q-ST-70-39C – Aerospace industry standards

ECSS-Q-ST-70-39C is the European standard applicable to welding in the aerospace industry. It specifies processing and quality requirements for flight and ground equipment.

The RCC-M code  - Nuclear and Reactors Standards

Although it is not a standard in the proper sense, the RCC-M code defines the rules for the design and construction of mechanical equipment for nuclear islands of pressurized water reactors. Laser welding, however, is only processed quickly in the RCC-MRx.

These laser welding standards come together and constitute real resources in the quest for quality. They are there to be used, even to inspire when they prove to be insufficient, as may be the case when it is.